Legislation to Reduce Marijuana Possession Penalties Introduced in Vermont
House Bill 427 amends state law so that the adult possession of up to one ounce of marijuana is reduced from a criminal misdemeanor (punishable by six months in jail and a $ 500 maximum fine) to a civil offense, punishable by a $ 150 fine, no jail time, and no criminal record. Passage of the measure, which has been endorsed by Governor Peter Shumlin, will allow state law enforcement to reallocate an estimated $ 700,000 annually in criminal justice resources. According to a 2009 Mason/Dixon survey, 63 percent of Vermont’s voters favor decriminalization.
Please contact your state House member to support this legislation by entering your zip code below.
Leave a Reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.